Important Dates in Indian History

Share on:

Important Dates in Indian History

3000-1500Indus Valley Civilisation
576Gautam Buddha Birth
527Mahavir Birth
327-326Alexander’s invasion of India. This invasion has opened a land route between Europe and India.
313Accession of Chandragupta Maurya (as per Jain tradition)
305Chandragupta Maurya Defeated Seleucus
273-232Ashoka’s reign
261Kalinga Conquest
145-101Region of Elara, Sri Lanka’s Chola King
58Beginning of Vikram Era
AD 1st – 10th Century
78The Starting of Saka Era
120Accession of Kanishka
320Commencement of Gupta era (The Golden Age of ancient India)
380Accession of Vikramaditya
405 – 411Chinese traveller Fa-Hien visited India
415Accession of Kumara Gupta I
455Accession of Skando Gupta
606-647Harshavardhan’s reign
712First invasion in Sind by Arabs
836Accession of King Bhoja of Kannauj
985Accession of Chola Ruler Rajaraja
998Accession of Sultan Mahmud
AD 1001 – 1499
1001Invasion of Ghazni Mahmud. He defeated Punjab Ruler Jaipal
1025Destruction of Somnath Temple by Mahmud Ghazni
1191Tarain First Battle
1192Tarain Second Battle
1206Accession of Qutub-ud-din Aibak
1210Death of Qutub-ud-din Aibak
1221Genghis Khan invaded India (Mongol invasion)
1236Accession of Razia Sultan to the throne of Delhi
1240Razia Sultan death
1296Accession of Ala-ud-din Khalji
1316Ala-ud-din Khalji death
1325Accession of Muhammad-bin Tughlaq
1327Tughlaq Shifted Capital from Delhi to Daulatabad
1336Foundation of Vijayanagar empire in the South India
1351Accession of Feroz Shah
1398Invasion of India by Timur Lang
1469Guru Nanak Birth
1494Accession of Babur
1497 – 1498First voyage of Vasco da Gama to India
AD 1500 – 1799
1526First Battle of Panipat, Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodi; Foundation of Mughal rule by Babur
1527Battle of Khanua (Rana Sanga was defeated by Babur)
1530Death of Babur and accession of Humayun
1539Sher Shah Suri defeated Humayun
1540Battle of Kannauj
1555Humayun regained the throne of Delhi
1556Second Battle of Panipat
1565Battle of Talikota
1576Battle of Haldighati; Rana Pratap defeated by Akbar
1582Din-e-Illahi founded by Akbar
1597Death of Rana Pratap
1600East India Company Starting
1605Death of Akbar and accession of Jahangir
1606Execution of Guru ArjunDev
1611Jahangir married Nur Jahan
1616Sir Thomas Roe visits Jahagir
1627Birth of Shivaji and death of Jahangir
1628Shah Jahan becomes emperor of India
1631Death of Mumtaj Mahal
1634The British permitted to trade in India in Bengal
1659Accession of Aurangzeb, Shah Jahan imprisoned
1665Shivaji imprisoned by Aurangzeb
1666Death of Shah Jahan
1675Execution of Teg Bahadur, the ninth Guru of Sikhs
1680Death of Shivaji
1707Death of Aurangzeb
1708Death of Guru Gobind Singh
1739Nadir Shah invades India
1757Battle of Plassey, British political rule establishment in India at the hands of Lord Clive
1761Third Battle of Panipat; Shah Alam II becomes India’s emperor
1764Battle of Buxor
1765Clive appointed East India Company’s Governor in India
1767 – 1769Mysore War I
1770The Great Bengal Fami
1780Birth of Maharaja Ranjit Singh
1780 – 1784Mysore War II
1784Pitt’s India Act
1790 -1792Mysore War III
1793Bengal Settlement
1799Mysore War IV and Death of Tipu Sultan
1802Bassein Treaty
1809Amritsar Treaty
1829The practice of Sati banned
1830The Visit of Raja Rammohan Roy to England.
1833Raja Rammohan Roy died in Bristol, England
1839Maharaja Ranjit Singh died
1839–421st Anglo-Afghan War
1845–461st Anglo-Sikh War
18522nd Anglo-Burmese War
1853The inauguration of the first Railway line between Bombay and Thane. Telegraph line in Calcutta
1857The Sepoy Mutiny or First War of Independence
1861Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore
1869Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
1885Indian National Congress was founded
1889Birthday of Jawaharlal Nehru
1897Birthday of Subhash Chandra Bose
1903Tibet Expedition
1905Bengal was partitioned by Lord Curzon.
1906Muslim League Foundation
1911Delhi Darbar, King George V, and Queen visited India; Delhi becomes the capital of India
1914World War 1st begins
1916Muslim League signed Lucknow Pact and Congress, The Foundation day of BHU (Banaras Hindu University) and Home Rule League
1918World War 1st ends
1919Montague-Chelmsford Reforms introduced the Jallianwala Bagh massacre at Amritsar
1920Khilafat Movement Launched, The very 1st meeting of All-India Trade Union Congress, Report on Hunter Commission on Jallianwala Bagh, Massacre Published First Non-cooperation movement launched by Gandhi
1922Chaura Chauri Violence, Gandhi started the Non-cooperation movement
1925Communist Party of India organized at Kanpur
1927Simon Commission Boycott, Starting of Broadcasting in India
1928Lala Lajpat Rai died
1929Lahore Session of INC passed Resolution of ‘Poorna Swaraj’ (complete independence)
1930Mahatma Gandhi (April 6, 1930) launched Dandi March. The first round table conference was held in London.
1931Gandhi-Irwin Pact, Suspension of Civil Disobedience movement, Second round table conference held.
1932 communal award announced by MacDonald (modified by Poona Pact, September 24).
1935Government of India Act.
1937Provincial Autonomy, Congress forms ministries.
1938All India Kishan Sabha formed.
1939World War 2nd begins (September 3), the Resignation of Congress Ministries in Provinces.
1941Subhash Chandra Bose escaped from India, Rabindranath Tagore Died
1942Cripps Mission arrived in India, Launch of Quit India movement (August 8).
1943–44SC Bose forms Provisional Government of Free India formed by SC Bose and Indian National Army in Singapore; Bengal famine
1945Indian National Army trial started at Red Fort, Shimla Conference; World War 2nd ends.
1946Visit of British Cabinet Mission in India
1947India divided; India and Pakistan form separate independent nations.

You May Also Like: International Yoga Day

Leave a Comment